Q5/SQ5 MKII Discussion Discussion forum for the Second Generation Audi Q5 SUV

Winter Wheel Sets

Old 10-15-2017, 08:17 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Winter Wheel Sets

I will pickup my 2018 Q5 this coming weekend. The vehicle comes with the 20 inch all season tires.

However, the winter is coming very soon and I need to purchase the a set of winter wheel sets after I pickup the vehicle.

Regarding the wheels, what will be the correct hub centric size and wheel specs. and offset for the 2018 Q5? I need to pay extra for the TPMS as well for the winter wheels.

I am new to Audi and I do not have much information about the wheel specs. such as torque for wheel bolts and etc.

I see in the Audi website, they recommend to use the 17 inch winter wheel sets for the Q5. To me, the 17 inch wheels look weird to a mid-size SUV.

I am thinking about using the 18 inch winter set. is anyone here also purchase the 18 inch wheel sets and already installed on the Q5?

Can you post some pictures and let me see how they look like?

Regarding the winter tires, I am thinking using the Continental tires (have not decided which model, I think they have 2 models to choose from the tirerack website).

Thanks.
Old 10-15-2017, 08:34 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Good news! You don’t have to pay for TPMS as there are no sensors. The tire pressure is calculated based on rotation or something. Personally I recommend only going down one size in wheel diameter and sticking with OEM tire sizes but you’ll hear the snow freaks say 17s and 215 wide because mother Russia and stuff.
Old 10-15-2017, 08:43 PM
AudiWorld Member

Bad news . I am from Canada, I double checked the specs., the wheels came with TPMS. I wish the air pressure calculated based on the wheels rotation.

​If I downsize to 19 inch winter tires, the price are very expensive and the tire choices are very limited.
Old 10-15-2017, 09:20 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 565 Likes on 447 Posts