Audi A5 / S5 / RS5 Coupe & Cabrio (B9) Discussion forum for the B9 Audi A5, S5 and RS5 Coupe and Cabriolet 2018 model year and up

Accuracy of Payment Estimator on Audi Site

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2018, 07:21 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Accuracy of Payment Estimator on Audi Site

I am a newbie here, looking for help. I am starting to look at an Audi A5 or S5 SB, (coming from a Lexus GS 350 F-Sport) and playing around with the build your own function and using the payment estimator. How accurate is that estimator? It gives me a lease payment in the $720 plus range for a A5 with a list price of ~56K. (A S5 listed at $65K lease is ~$850)... A $68K list Jaguart XF 30t estimates a lease of less than $650 and a Volvo S90 listed at over $70K even less than that. Are the lease terms for Audi really that bad?
Old 03-13-2018, 07:40 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 36 Likes on 25 Posts

use a lease calculator and edmunds.com forums money factor.

safe money factor is .0017 (you can do better even usually

Find out the residual from the dealer.

If you dont understand the financial mechanisms of a lease your are likely to get screwed by any dealer/brand leasing a car.
Old 03-13-2018, 08:22 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Google search edmunds 2018 audi "insert car model" lease deals. It'll take you to the forum that people post the most up to date and accurate money factors, etc.

Then use this calculator - leasehackr.com/calculator/
Old 03-13-2018, 10:28 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1,091 Likes on 770 Posts

First and foremost, drive all three cars....then you'll see why each costs what they cost.

Many manufacturers have artificially inflated MSRP's and then do huge discounts (American brands). Others have over inflated residuals, because if they leased for "real" dollars, the cars would languish more than they already do. None of these means much unless you drive the car and like or hate it.