Q7 MKII Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 MKII built from 2016 -

Q7 towing components and WDH

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2018, 11:58 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 103 Likes on 75 Posts
Default Q7 towing components and WDH

I am the new owner of a 2018 Q7 (progressive) with factory hitch.
We have a single axle trailer (3200lb dry, 3800lb loaded with around 400lb ball mount load) that I have been pulling with our Acura MDX so far (towing capacity 5000lb).
MDX manual does not recommend using weight distribution hitch (WDH) but I have been using one for two years without any problem. I am just mindful of how much upward push I create with the spring action of WDH; not too much.

Now with Q7, I understand it is 7700lb towing capacity with 770lb tongue weight. The silly part is that it wants it's own very short receiver/ball mount that has no more than 6" (or 6.5"?) from ball to the receiver pin. My simple calculations suggests that if that distance is to allow for 770lb tongue weight then another receiver hitch with, say, 10" distance between ball and the receiver pin should easily support 500lb tongue weight as the force seen at the pin point is the same.

Question 1: am I not right to assume I should be fine using a different receiver hitch/ball mount minding the reduced tongue weight it can carry?