Q7 MK 1 Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 SUV built from 2005 to 2015

Loud intermittent resonance tone coming from mid to rear of 2015 Q7.

Old 12-07-2018, 06:40 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Loud intermittent resonance tone coming from mid to rear of 2015 Q7.

I just bought a 2015 Q7 Premium Plus with only 14600 miles from an Audi dealership. It makes an uncomfortable noise that I can only tolerate by turning up the music. I'm a very tuned in mechanic and I suspected the problem was from somewhere in the drive train or suspension system. I thought I could get this problem easily solved since its still under warranty, but so far, two separate Audi dealership service managers can't seem to hear the noise. One of them blamed it on the tires.
The tires are not the problem. First, they are like new, and second if they were the problem, the noise would be obviously affected by changes in the road surface and speeds.

The noise does come and go, so this makes it odd for a drive train. The noise is almost like when you blow across the end of a tube and it makes a howling vibration.

What does anyone else think?
Old 12-11-2018, 08:04 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

being a tuned mechanic, wouldn't you think centerish noise would be coming from the transfer case?
would be really bad if that was it with 14k miles.
I'de swap tires front to back and see if the location changes.
If the car sat for a long time on certain surfaces you can get a flat spot on a tire that will howl but it would always do it not occasionally.
The other thing is are all 4 tires the same size? is one more worn than the other 3?
I mean I would guess transfer case every time. Mine would occasionally make noise so I changed the fluid and it vanished, but im at 155k miles not 14k. but who knows the history of the vehicle?
Old 12-12-2018, 04:56 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member