Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

Questions from a newb

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2019, 09:24 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Questions from a newb

I posted this in the new member section but no one replied so I figured I’d post it here since it’s applicable:

Hello!

Just wanted to say hi to the forum. I'm in the Hampton Roads area of Virginia, and I'm new to the Audi community. I guess, I'm still not technically a part of I as I have yet to actually purchase one, but I'm narrowing down my search. I've been a Ford guy pretty much all my life (brainwashed as a child), but now I'm branching out and I've decided Audi will be my new home.

For the past decade or so I've pretty much only driven Lightnings, and I'm currently driving a Harley Davidson F150. They are really fun to drive and the HD is a nice ride, but they get **** for gas mileage and I don't really use it as a truck as much as I used to. We just had a daughter recently, so I bought the four-door HD to fit her car seat, but we really only ever drive my wife's SUV. Meanwhile I'm driving about 70 miles a day in a truck that gets about 14 mpg (if you're driving downhill, wind at your back, no A/c etc). I've literally been having to budget about $100 per week in gas, which is just absurd

All those things add up to me trying to find something I enjoy driving every day, but that still has a decent amount of power. I've been looking mostly at used A6's, preferrebly with at 3.0, but I did drive my first 2.0 and I was pleased with how it felt; just enough pep to keep me interested. I'm hoping to find a good deal on a 2012-2015ish model but with lower miles and in good shape. I want to save money on gas, but don't want to replace savings in gas money with a high car payment.