Q7 MK 1 Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 SUV built from 2005 to 2015

no crank when cold

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2019, 06:07 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
Default no crank when cold

Sad to be a newbie here and have to start with a b1tching session as first on topic thread.

On a relatively cool (-37C) morning, wife's '15 refused to crank at all. Instrument cluster displayed a flashing glow plug light and turning the key did diddly squat. After four hours in the sun, everything worked normally. Wife took car (with less than 1k kms on it) to dealer, and she says they did not sound surprised with the complaint, but offered no explanation as to why or how common.

I have not had time to hook VCDS up, nor I have to admit time to even learn the Can bus version I recently bought, and dealer did not give her the information regarding codes set - if any at all.

So, two questions:

1. has anyone (or how many "ones" encountered similar problem(s)?

2. What is the cause and the fix (more than a bit upset that I even have to ask such a question with a new car)??

One thing I have learned from over 50 years of fixing VW's screw-ups is that they are remarkably consistent and pretty much EVERY car will at some point have the same problems. And, of course, they will never admit to making any mistakes.
Old 03-24-2019, 09:14 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 566 Likes on 448 Posts

I'm not surprised a 4 year old battery would refuse to do anything at nearly the point where Celsius and Fahrenheit intersect.. diesels have many things working against them on very cold starts:
  • Diesel Compression is MUCH higher than a gasser, so starters require much more amps to successfully turn over a Diesel than any Gasser
  • Diesels require Glow Plugs in these temps and that requires significant electrical draw.. on a morning like you describe it'd of taken 2-4 cycles of Glow plug to even start.