Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

Potential New Owner questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2019, 05:06 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Potential New Owner questions

Hi All, I'm a newbie to this forum. I'm in the market to potentially purchase a 2015 Q5. I currently own a Porsche Boxster 2013 and a 2012 Chevy Equinox. I'm planning on replacing both of these with the Audi

Here are my questions:

Reliability: Is the Q5 a reliable vehicle and in particular, how does the 2015 MY stack up to other years? Can I do my own work? I do most of my own work on the Porsche Brakes, Oil changes, filters, and some deeper repairs.
Performance: Will I notice better handling and acceleration from "standard" cross overs like the Equinox with the 2.0T Engine or do I need to go to a 3.0?
Affordability: My Porsche dealer is notorious for squeezing and bleeding their repair bills. Will I continue to experience this with the Audi?

Recommendations? Is there a particular Model Year / Model which stands out as a "good buy"?

Thank you all for your assistance and sorry for the many questions.

Al
Old 04-20-2019, 05:16 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 382 Likes on 344 Posts

Originally Posted by kbrkr
Hi All, I'm a newbie to this forum. I'm in the market to potentially purchase a 2015 Q5. I currently own a Porsche Boxster 2013 and a 2012 Chevy Equinox. I'm planning on replacing both of these with the Audi

Here are my questions:

Reliability: Is the Q5 a reliable vehicle and in particular, how does the 2015 MY stack up to other years? Can I do my own work? I do most of my own work on the Porsche Brakes, Oil changes, filters, and some deeper repairs.
Performance: Will I notice better handling and acceleration from "standard" cross overs like the Equinox with the 2.0T Engine or do I need to go to a 3.0?