TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

Lack of power at opertating temperature. ideas?? help!

Old 06-05-2010, 04:02 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 5 Likes on 1 Post
Default Lack of power at opertating temperature. ideas?? help!

i have a 2001 225hp/quatro amu. the car has a little over 100 miles on it. runs great. everything works great. Im a mechanic so the car gets very well maintained. my thermostat is sticking a bit, the temp gauge goes down 1 tick on colder days or when i drive higheway speeds for a while, but the car never overheats. going to change the stat asap.
my main problem is, when i first get in my car in the morning, let it warm up 1 or 2 ticks, if i punch it the car really moves. once it gets up to operating temp, the needle right in the middle of the temp gauge, the car feels a bit slower, almost feels like the cars not getting enough air or as if the exhaust was plugged. it still runs smooth and i dont have any noises or surging. i have an apr flash on the car if that may be acting up. my second problem is at idle i get a tiny shake in the engine that feels like a misfire once in a while. no codes for it, the engine just kinda jerks for a split second and then its ok. its more frequent when the engine is at operating temp once again.
i'm stuck and would like to fix these 2 little issues.
the only thing i can think of is the coils get weak after they warm up in the middle of the head and they are producing weaker spark, which would explain my lack of power and my suspected misfire. anyone have any issues like this? let me know if you have any ideas. thanks guys!
Old 06-06-2010, 01:55 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by ouwdee