TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

OT: credit/leasing question for possible owner

Old 04-17-2001, 09:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OT: credit/leasing question for possible owner

I went by the audi dealer here in tampa, florida and test drove a brand new 2001 TT roadster 225 and fell in love instantly. I'm coming from a 1997 bmw z3 2.8 and there is one hell of a difference, both in comfort and style. I was thinking about leasing it around the end of may and had a few questions. I'm only 18, so my credit isn't all that great. I don't have bad credit, just lack of a long credit history. I've been making payments on my Z3 for 6 months now and have never been late and I have also been making apartment payments and bill payments for 9 months and have never been late. This constitutes my entire credit history, and I'm getting ready to start a new job May 1st at $80k/yr. I'm wondering if this credit history along with my new job is enough for the dealer/leasing company to give me a lease...I'm not really a banker and I haven't filled out the credit app they gave me because I haven't started the new job yet. Just curious if anyone has any experience in this field or thinks this is enough credit history to lease this car.

I really appreciate any help you can give me.

#mr-maTT
Old 04-17-2001, 10:10 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Default Perhaps....

but in my experience, credit is scrutinized much more for a lease over a purchase....Just a thought, at $80k per year, shouldn't take long to save a sizeable down payment (assuming you don't have much debt -- shouldn't yet at 18 )....which should weigh heavily with potential creditors. Of course, this is all IMHO.
Old 04-17-2001, 12:38 PM

Default My thoughts..