TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

Rear end grind in reverse

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2010, 11:21 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear end grind in reverse

Hey guys, I'm new to the Audi world so I hope you guys can help me out! I searched the forum but didn't find my specific problem yet...

My TT (in sig) sat for 2 weeks while I was on vacation and when I got back I noticed it is now making a grinding noise when backing out of the driveway or a parking spot. It almost sounds like a tire rubbing but it's not. It only does it while I'm backing up and turning at the same time, the sharper the turn the louder the noise.

I've seen a lot written about the Haldex, and I was thinking it could be low on fluid, but it only does it in reverse and I haven't seen any drips under the car. Any ideas?
Old 07-24-2010, 06:56 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by RowdyAudi
Hey guys, I'm new to the Audi world so I hope you guys can help me out! I searched the forum but didn't find my specific problem yet...

My TT (in sig) sat for 2 weeks while I was on vacation and when I got back I noticed it is now making a grinding noise when backing out of the driveway or a parking spot. It almost sounds like a tire rubbing but it's not. It only does it while I'm backing up and turning at the same time, the sharper the turn the louder the noise.

I've seen a lot written about the Haldex, and I was thinking it could be low on fluid, but it only does it in reverse and I haven't seen any drips under the car. Any ideas?
The haldex oil and filter is supposed to be changed every 20Kmiles, and they frequently aren't.

I would jack the car up an turn the wheels backwards to see if you can hear noise.

Wheel bearings and also brakes can cause this noise.

The haldex oil and filter change is DIY with the "special wrench" for around $70.
Old 07-27-2010, 06:24 AM