TT (Mk3) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk3 Audi TT, TT-S and TT-RS Coupe & Roadster produced from 2014- present

2016 TT - seats coming apart!

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2017, 01:59 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

That sucks! Mine has been jacked up for months, its getting pretty old. I spoke with AOA customer experience this week and they said no date for the newly designed part.
Old 09-23-2017, 07:37 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 51 Likes on 38 Posts

This information has been quite useful for me, if depressing for you folks. I am on the process of deciding on a replacement for my leased 2016 A6 and had narrowed it to a TT or an A5 Sportback. The number of posts like this one on both forums are making me think the replacement might well be something other than an Audi. I have been leasing new Audi’s since 2005, my current 2016 A6 being my 5th one, but some of this stuff seems to me totally unacceptable for any car in the Audi’s class. Anyway. I will remain open to another Audi, but at this point an Outback Touring seems to be looming as a better bet. The Subie dealer is less than 1.5 miles away, whereas the nearest Audi dealer is 60 miles away – that is a consideration as well.
Old 09-23-2017, 08:13 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 97 Likes on 84 Posts

This may very well be the crux of the issue. Engineering compromise between firm attachment and ease of airbag deployment. Still we come to Audi for superior engineering, fit & finish, and yet ...

Originally Posted by Fun101
I wonder if those other cars have the airbag built into the seat like ours. That would explain why the clips need to allow for them to pop open in the event of an airbag having to deploy.
Old 09-23-2017, 08:26 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by irenesbob
This information has been quite useful for me, if depressing for you folks.
The seat problem sucks but the car has a lot of merits. For example, it holds a lot of stuff !