Wheels & Tires Discussion Discussion forum for all questions and topics regarding wheels and tires

Need Help with Winter Tire/Wheel set at Tirerack

Old 09-02-2015, 09:35 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Help with Winter Tire/Wheel set at Tirerack

Hey there look like great promos at Tirerack and I need a winter set after killing my new wheels last season.

I am new to Audi having bought an A6 with custom Vossen wheel package already loaded up. It's the A6/3.0 Quattro with Prestige package. The wheels are 21" wide performance... I'm not a tire or wheel expert so I included some pics for reference.

I love my current wheel/tire set and the aesthetics is important to me. I looked at Tirerack and there are sizes from 17" up to 20"... I want a set that improves safety and does well in the snow on wheels that look good and provide an adequate trade-off given the nice "summer set" I currently have.

I found a 20" wheel that looks decent:

http://www.tirerack.com/wheels/Wheel...kageFlow=false

...and I'm less choosy about the tires.

QUESTION:
Is a 20" wheel and requisite tire a bad idea for the winter? I don't want to go smaller as it changes the overall look of the vehicle pretty dramatically. Any guidance here is much appreciated, I've never had to buy a winter set and am a little overwhelmed with choice!

CURRENT WHEELS/TIRES

Old 09-02-2015, 04:49 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 116 Likes on 94 Posts

Originally Posted by mkirkpatrick
Hey there look like great promos at Tirerack and I need a winter set after killing my new wheels last season.

I am new to Audi having bought an A6 with custom Vossen wheel package already loaded up. It's the A6/3.0 Quattro with Prestige package. The wheels are 21" wide performance... I'm not a tire or wheel expert so I included some pics for reference.