AudiWorld Forums

AudiWorld Forums (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/)
-   Audi e-tron / Q8 e-tron (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/audi-e-tron-q8-e-tron-232/)
-   -   Loss of battery range (really, not GOM issue) (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/audi-e-tron-q8-e-tron-232/loss-battery-range-really-not-gom-issue-3023880/)

Peachy3 08-13-2021 05:35 AM

Loss of battery range (really, not GOM issue)

I have a 2019 Prestige with about 7k miles. I have been driving EVs since 2014 (2014 and 2017 i3s (sold), currently a model 3 and a Leaf still in the family, we're an all-EV family since 2017), and I understand how the GOM and range estimation works.

My range has been pretty consistent, and as you can see based on my mileage, I don't drive a lot these days, usually a couple times a week for a few miles but that's about it, with the occasional longer trip. I charge to 80% and I usually plug in when I get below 25%. (Good battery maintenance practices all around.)

Last weekend when I charged up, my GOM only got to 90 miles at 80%. I don't pay that much attention usually when I charge if I'm going to be around town, but 90 seemed really low. So I busted out the app and my spreadsheets and looked at my history, efficiency, etc. and there's no way that's just driving efficiency (I'm at 43.5kWh/100mi over long term, and it doesn't vary much over the last two weeks--efficiency would have to be very bad to support that kind of range estimate in any case). My long term average translates to 218 miles of capacity based on a 95kW battery. Even if we're only accessing 88% of the full 95kW, I'm still well short of that, so clearly something's off.

I just charged it up again, and it tells me only 85 miles at 80%. So I'm thinking I lost a battery pack. I made an appointment with the dealer (it'll be a couple of weeks before I can get in and get a loaner). We'll see how it goes, battery is under warranty, so I'm expecting them to replace it.