AudiWorld Forums

AudiWorld Forums (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/)
-   Q7 MK 1 Discussion (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/q7-mk-1-discussion-112/)
-   -   RV trailer towing safety advice (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/q7-mk-1-discussion-112/rv-trailer-towing-safety-advice-2975683/)

DasMomBomb 07-11-2019 10:25 AM

RV trailer towing safety advice

Newbie here to this forum and to towing a trailer. I bought my 2015 q7 3.0 T Quattro with factory tow hitch to specifically to tow a RV trailer. I am now realizing that it doesn’t have the factory tow package. I had a 7 pin receiver installed for trailer brakes and have been looking at brake controllers. I want to purchase an RPod ( 20 ft, dry weight 2785, payload weight 1051, hitch weight 336). When I’ve visited rpod forums people advised me not to tow with this vehicle. I’m asking for your opinions. What do you think? Also, can I get a tow package added to this car? I am not a car girl and reading threads on this forum I can understand only about 20% of what you are saying. What about just adding coolant to the transmission?

uberwgn 07-11-2019 10:51 AM

Originally Posted by DasMomBomb (Post 25341287)

What about just adding coolant to the transmission?

Ms. Mom, welcome aboard! I must say your idea of adding coolant to the transmission is thinking outside the box! I like it. (Please don't implement that strategy.)

Doesn't the Q7 have significant tow capacity?

uberwgn 07-11-2019 10:58 AM

Add'l towing info, Q7: https://www.audiworld.com/forums/q7-...ckage-2939753/

Greg5OH 07-12-2019 11:43 AM

The Q7 has a 660 tongue weight and 6600 max tow limit. The R pod is a small and would be no sweat for the Q7. People tow car trailers with cars at 6k all the time with these in europe. In America its "you need a truck!" for everything.