URGENT Please Help - Leak?

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2016, 11:16 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default URGENT Please Help - Leak?

Hi there, I'm new to Audi and looking at buying a 2005 audi a4 3.0 quattro automatic. While at the dealership, I noticed a leak coming from this hose. Didn't seem like a bad leak, but I noticed fresh liquid on the engine directly below it and a drop sitting on the bottom of the hose itself.

Is this normal? What is this hose for (cant find it anywhere)?

Also, as far as the engine is concerned, it seemed very sound, but when I went from a full stop to full gas, I noticed a small amoount of white smoke come out the back. It didn't do it again during the test drive, only the first time.

Is that normal for these cars? Assuming it's been sitting for a bit.

Thank you so much!!!!
Attached Images   
Old 03-13-2016, 04:08 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 287 Likes on 232 Posts

No oil leak is ever normal on any engine, however, given the age of the car (10+ years) there's likely seepage somewhere. Impact depends on how bad the leak si and where it's coming from. I beiieve that pipe is part of the power steering system. If you follow it through under that plastic engine shroud you'll see another rubber hose attached to the metal piece on the engine. That's usually where the power steering system weeps a little - certainly is what I have had on my 3.0 B6, and a quick addition of another clamp fixed that issue. Symptom for me of the weepage was a wailing sound when turning the steering wheel at slow speeds i.e. parking.

White smoke might just have been condensation / moisture that had been sitting in the exhaust pipe/muffler.