A4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A4 produced from 2008.5
Old 08-22-2016, 02:57 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:Browse all: Audi A4 (B7) Interior Guides
Print Wikipost

2012 A4 Stock Stereo Sucks - B&O Upgrade?

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2012, 06:28 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2012 A4 Stock Stereo Sucks - B&O Upgrade?

I just got out of my 2002 A4 3.0 and now have a new 2012 A4 Premium Plus with Nav. I'm extremely disappointed in the quality of sound the stereo puts out. Does anyone know if it's possible to upgrade to the B&O option?

The car otherwise is amazing. Audi has put a lot of thought into the electronics including the stereo system, but it seems they completely left out how it would actually sound. I make my living in audio, so I know I'm sensitive to such things, but this is beyond reproach and worse than my 2002 and worse than a lot of other cheaper, less refined cars I've been in. Since I can talk about this in quantifiable terms, I'll go into a bit of detail for those with a bit of audio knowledge

:::The system is extremely aggressive in the high-mid area (2k-5kHz). Adjusting the "Treble" control a little adds some nice "sparkle" up top but also adds more of this already terrible high-midrange.

:::The bass response below 60Hz sucks, even with a "Subwoofer." There's entirely too much 80-160Hz too. Adjusting the "Bass" response helps down below, but like above, exacerbates this trouble region.

:::The midrange response of the system is COMPLETELY different when the DSP is in "All" vs "Driver" modes. When in All mode, that golfball-in-the-throat 630-1kHz range is a bit much, but when you put it in Driver mode, it's almost too little. In my opinion, the tonality of the system should not change when you change this focus option.