A4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A4 produced from 2008.5

"Crystal Ball" opinions

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2015, 08:14 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "Crystal Ball" opinions

Hello, I'm looking to switch from Lexus to Audi. A few things that I'd like Audi fan's opinions on. As I've owned three different Lexus models in the last 12 years, reliability/low incident of repair has been my experience. It appears that Audi's 4 cyl turbo hasn't been a subject of frequent repairs as well as A4 and A6 models in general. I usually buy a car that's 3 years old with remaining warranty and/or CPO but would go older without warranty if I were to buy another Lexus this time around. Would you recommend going the CPO route or feel comfortable enough to buy just outside of warranty? I'm a 6' 2" man in his fifties, most of the time driving alone or with only one passenger. I'm a fairly sedate driver who appreciates a comfortable ride with nice amenities. Central FL doesn't suffer snow though we have a summer/fall rainy season. I can avoid driving in the heavy rains for the most part. Also, it's rather flat, straight roads here, not exactly a sport enthusiast's dream. So, I'm considering the 2.0t in either the A4 or A6 without Quattro because of the above reasons. I'm excited about the new 2016 252 hp version of this engine and wished it was already available in used A4 and A6s. Do you think it'll be in the 2016 A4? Is anyone else thinking that the substantial increase in HP and torque is a big plus? So, I'd like the Premium Plus version for the amenities. Would you recommend the A4 or A6? Thanks for taking the time.
Old 05-04-2015, 12:12 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Hmmm...... I'd go for the A4 to save a few pounds, and it feels a little more sporty. Plus, if I was mostly by myself, rear seat room isn't too big of a deal. I'm 6'3", and both my kiddos fit just fine in back seats, and they're 4.5-5'.