A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

.? About Audi A6 Quattro.

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2016, 11:27 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default .? About Audi A6 Quattro.

Hi I'm new to the audi world looking into buying a 98 a6 Quattro I was just a little confused the fellow says it's a 2.8 v6 5 spd I was under the impression quattros only came with the v8 or the bi turbo 2.7 also any common problems with these cars.?
Old 05-31-2016, 03:32 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 172 Likes on 162 Posts

The C5 came in three engine types :

2.8 v6
2.7 turbo v6
4.2 v8

Common problems: automatic transmissions, CEL/MIL, suspension, brakes, hardware.

Things that last a long time if maintained properly: engine, body (slow to rust).

If you buy an Audi, do yourself a favor and buy a VCDS from Ross Tech. It will almost surely pay for itself the first time you avoid a trip to a mechanic/dealer.
Old 05-31-2016, 03:37 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Get it looked at by a competent independent Audi shop, and get an estimate of whatever "catch-up" maintenance it needs.
Cheap Audis are expensive.
Old 05-31-2016, 05:15 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by georgeb944

2.8 v6
2.7 turbo v6
4.2 v8

Common problems: automatic transmissions, CEL/MIL, suspension, brakes, hardware.

Things that last a long time if maintained properly: engine, body (slow to rust).

If you buy an Audi, do yourself a favor and buy a VCDS from Ross Tech. It will almost surely pay for itself the first time you avoid a trip to a mechanic/dealer.
The 3.0 v6 was in the C5 from mid 02 to 04 replacing the base 2.8.
Old 05-31-2016, 05:41 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by georgeb944

2.8 v6
2.7 turbo v6
4.2 v8