A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Cam seals DIY - can you ease my confusion?

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2012, 05:01 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam seals DIY - can you ease my confusion?

Hi guys. Just trying to get my head around my next DIY maintenance job - valve cover seals and associated cam seals.

To be honest, my brains are a bit fried from all the reading, though I'm pretty sweet on what to do for the valve covers and the cam adjuster seals/gasket, its the cam seals that I'm a tad confused with. I've bought a kit from Blauparts which includes four cam seals and the two end plugs (see pic). Re the four cam seals, obviously its two per bank, and I take it they fit on the cams at the opposite end to the cam chains - is that right?

Because I'm a bit of a newb when it comes to this sort of stuff, I'd love to leave the cams in place (not feeling too confident about taking them out), and maybe just loosen the cam caps as I've heard the seals just "slip" onto the cams? I'm a bit miffed as to how that can be though, so with the valve covers off, can I (or maybe not?) get these four cam seals and two end plugs replaced without removing the cam shafts? If so, has anyone got any write ups or tips as I'm finding it tricky finding much on these cam seals and end plugs? And the plugs, do they just fit on by hand?

One other thing, when I had my timing belt done last year at an Audi dealer, they also replaced the two cam seals at the front of the block (one per bank), the ones behind the timing belt sprockets. Just wondering if those are two different seals to the four I'm talking about?

Cheers heaps. M
Attached Images  
Old 09-13-2012, 05:03 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Oh yeah, my ride is a 2.8 30v quattro A6 (98). Important that, I figure []
Old 09-13-2012, 05:46 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post