A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Intermittent start, 2000 A6, 4.2

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2015, 07:16 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Intermittent start, 2000 A6, 4.2

I’m new to the Audi World, about a month ago I picked upa 2000 A6, 4.2 with 121,000 miles. Mostthings seem great, fun ride, but many sensor issues. I’m picking through them and learning alot. One problem I had was the car wouldnot start. All dash lights came on, butnothing. I would use the key fob to lockand unlock the car and then it would start right up. Last night, I could not get it to start. Pulled the battery cable andreconnected. Nothing, but the nav. Systemstarted talking to me and the security system seemed to be acting funny. Let the car sit overnight in a Taco Bellparking lot (glad no kids messed with it) and in the morning, it started rightup. Drove it home and with it runningran a scan tool (neighbors). Clearedseveral central locking system codes (passage doors, trunk, and internal motionwhich my son set off last night playing in the car at Taco Bell). Shut car off and now it will not startagain. Called Audi dealer and they saidit was not the immobilizer system because the car would start and then shutoff. I asked if the key fob batteriescould be getting weak, they said no, the key fobs only work doors and would notkeep car from starting. They jumpedright to the steering column and key cylinder. They want me to bring it in for several days to diagnose. $$$$$$$$. I have read a lot about key cylinders andloose wires. I might look there. Could my car battery be low???? I did try jumping it last night butnothing. I need to figure out what isgoing on, because I have not faith in the car right now and don’t want my sondriving it.
Old 08-08-2015, 07:34 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Let car sit for an hour and it started right up. Did it several times. Also locked and unlocked doors and it started?????