A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Remote start questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2016, 10:31 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 15 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Remote start questions

Hi all. New to this forum, as I spend most of my time on other Audi forums but this one seems to be the most active for d3's, so here I am.

Any of you have remote start in your vehicles? While I am building my c5 s6, the garage is tied up and my wife is forced to park the a8 outside. I'd love to put a remote start in the car but am having difficulty finding appropriate parts to install a remote start. For what it's worth, I am a professional installer, but the interface companies I use list "interface module required for remote start" but none of the modules they sell do anything bedsides integrate with convenience features.

If any of you have remote start, would you mind listing what product you used to make it work? Thanks

Also attached a picture of the car for reference. It's a 2005 with 38k on it, peanut butter(amaretto?) interior, and factory wood wheel.

Name:  51CDB1D0-553F-42E3-8851-94CA51392A75_zpspmbceauo.jpg
Views: 4982
Size:  297.0 KB
Old 01-13-2016, 11:27 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Why you like to install this? To warm up the car? Maybe should think about aux. heating?
Old 01-13-2016, 11:30 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

A lot of times you are putting in your valet key into the module to override what audi did at the factory. Also you sometimes lose your keyless entry as it is now rerouted to the remote starter. To me it isn't worth the $$$ or hassle to put one in.

Can it be done....Sure it can. But if you are a professional installer and can't figure it out then maybe you should leave it alone. I'd hate for you to start cutting wires and the f-something up all for a little convenience.