Notices
Audi allroad Discussion forum for the original Audi allroad

Where to start with this starting issue?

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2016, 03:06 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where to start with this starting issue?

Hi allroad experts. I'm relatively new to Audi ownership and am having a bit of a hard time. Thousands of (NZ) dollars for a gearbox/TC, gear selector switch and a couple of new airsprings and a bit more besides in the 8 months I've owned my 4.2 V8 I now have a starter issue I can't really ignore an more. I'd appreciate some ideas of where to go next if anyone has any, please?

I've read a few of the starter problem threads and none sound quite like mine.

Very early on (months ago) I noticed there was occasionally a hesitation in firing up that seemed to be on cooler mornings. Not cold, 50 or so degrees. This happened enough to be a pain and on one of the many occasions it was in the garage I got them to replace the ignition switch. This seemed to improve things, but after a while the issue has crept back in and now it's been back a while and is getting worse.

When I leave the car for a few hours there is often a delay after I turn the key before the car fires up. There is no crank. Lots of things start up and come on (fan, lights etc) but it doesn't start. Sometimes it will after a few seconds, but other times it won't. In these instances if I walk away for a few minutes and come back it (almost) always then fires up first time, no hesitation or anything. And once it's started for the day it's always fine for the rest of the day - except for today. It's getting cooler as we get to the southern hemisphere winter and today it didn't start straight away after work so I need to do something about it.

Question is what?