Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

AT&T dropped 2G, what now?

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2017, 08:18 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AT&T dropped 2G, what now?

So I have a 2012 A7. I have been using a TruPhone sim in this car for nearly 5 years since I purchased it. At first it was using T-mobile 3G most of the time, then T-Mobile upgraded their 3G towers to be incompatible with the cellular device in the car, however it continued to work with AT&T 2G connectivity...

Until Dec 31, 2016 when AT&T shut off 2G support in order to add more 3G support.

So as of now, TruPhone will not work at all with the 2012 A7 and I'm guessing that none of the Audi Connect stuff would work either and probably no AT&T sim would be able to work either...the car is now officially unable to work anywhere here (USA) without an upgrade.

Do I have that right or is there some way to make the existing cellular device in the car work? It picks up an AT&T cel signal but it cannot find the Truphone.com APN anymore...so 2G doesn't come on and I can't use google maps anymore.

what are my options at this point?
Old 02-14-2017, 09:12 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1,065 Likes on 740 Posts

Your options are limited at this point. You can still use T-Mobile or an MVNO that uses T-Mobile's network such as FreedomPop. Don't use US Mobile as there are issues. You will only get a 2G signal, though if you live in a market where T-Mobile has already refarmed their network. Eventually, that will be nationwide. In 2020 T-Mobile will also shutdown their 2G network and then you are out of options.

The only other option to avert all this is to upgrade the telephone module, but that's been a challenge for many as Audi only offers the upgrade to original owners and cars that are still under warranty.
Old 02-14-2017, 09:52 AM
AudiWorld Member