Q3 Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q3 SUV

MMI – It pays to read the manual

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2015, 06:47 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MMI – It pays to read the manual

After three months with the Q3, I am very fluent with the MMI. Once you learn the basics, it becomes intuitive and it is very easy to do things with it that you’ve never done before.

It wasn’t like that when I first got the Q3. I work in IT so; “Manuals? I don’t need no stinking manuals.” Wrong! The first day I could not even add a radio station preset. So, humbled, I read the manual and everything made sense.

Now, I’m the master of MMI. So anyway, last week my iPhone 5 broke so I replaced it with an iPhone 6. Two days later while driving, I realized I never paired the new phone. I also realized I needed to delete the old pairing. No problem. So at the next red light, I easily removed the old phone going through menus I never traversed before, before the light turned green. 200 yards down the road in the McDonalds drive thru, I knew I had time to pair the new phone while in line. But it would not pair. It did not even see my phone. So, I tried again, and nothing. I was doing everything right. Horrors, is the iPhone 6 is not compatible?

Humbled again I pulled out the manual. And there it was; the MMI will ONLY pair with a phone during the first five minutes after the vehicle is started. OK, so I didn’t read every little word in the manual, or even large sections. (Or 85% of it) So I go out, start the motor, and the MMI found the phone.

But on the whole, MMI is very easy to figure out. Over whelming the first few days, but it gets easier.

I'm still laughing at myself with the panic I had of having a "non compatible phone"!

Last edited by miTTch; 02-19-2015 at 06:53 PM.
Old 02-20-2015, 03:57 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by miTTch