Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

Audi Reveals Software Fix for 3.0-liter TDIs

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2015, 06:51 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Audi Reveals Software Fix for 3.0-liter TDIs

Via Automotive News:

http://www.autonews.com/article/2015...oreUserAgent=1

Can't wait to see what it does to performance, fuel economy, and Adblue usage.
Old 11-23-2015, 07:02 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Deckardk
Via Automotive News:

http://www.autonews.com/article/2015...oreUserAgent=1

Can't wait to see what it does to performance, fuel economy, and Adblue usage.
I am not an engineer, and in no way qualified to offer any prediction. Having said that, I predict the big difference will be increased Ad Blue usage. We'll probably need to fill up on the deliciously named urea far more frequently -- to such a degree that refills will not line up so cleanly with regularly scheduled service.

I realize this may be wishful thinking. But BMW produces six cylinder diesel engines with comparable performance that are EPA compliant so it shouldn't, in theory, be impossible for Audi to do the same.

Last edited by Pratfall; 11-23-2015 at 07:09 PM.
Old 11-23-2015, 07:13 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

If you should be correct - I predict that Audi will provide free Ad Blue fill ups for the first 100,000 miles.
Old 11-23-2015, 08:41 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by Pratfall
I am not an engineer, and in no way qualified to offer any prediction. Having said that, I predict the big difference will be increased Ad Blue usage. We'll probably need to fill up on the deliciously named urea far more frequently -- to such a degree that refills will not line up so cleanly with regularly scheduled service.