Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

Security with Advanced key

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2015, 07:46 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Security with Advanced key

So I am new to Audi and new to Advanced key. Technology these days really enhanced the quality of our lives. I like the feature of the key and the door sensor to open and close the doors without taking the key out. However, I started to feel worry because each time I close the door I want to make sure they are locked. I know when I hear the beep sound that's means locked, but I just want to physically touch it to make sure they are really locked. I tested by putting my key 5 frets away from the car because if I carry the key with me then I can open the doors by the sensor. I am also worry that people can hide around the car and when I locked the car and walk away, they can open my car door as long as I'm not 5 feels away. Is this true and how to securely lock my car without worry?
Old 08-22-2015, 08:28 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 99 Likes on 44 Posts

When you hear the beep, the doors and trunk are locked. No need to check it again with the fob. The door sensor will not unlock once you are a few feet from the car. I seriously doubt someone will be hiding on the other side of the car to pull on the handle as you walk away. The timing would have to be perfect before you walked 3 feet away and you would hear the doors unlock that close anyway. I've never, ever read a post where this happened to someone.
Don't worry, be happy.
Old 08-22-2015, 08:55 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by snagitseven