Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

2.0T Timing Chain Tensioner

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2016, 06:55 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2.0T Timing Chain Tensioner

I recently purchased my first Audi, 2011 Q5 2.0T. I heard about the problems with timing chain tensioner failure. I currently have 117K on the engine and therefore became worried. Can anyone help me identify the early warning signs? What to listen for, etc before I damage the engine. When should the timing chain get replaced? Also, I did a little research online and I am not clear on the difference between the TSI and FSI engines. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, sorry ahead of time if this has already been posted in AudiWorld, as I am new to AudiWorld.
Old 12-10-2016, 07:51 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 225 Likes on 189 Posts

Originally Posted by ddjjmm
I recently purchased my first Audi, 2011 Q5 2.0T. I heard about the problems with timing chain tensioner failure. I currently have 117K on the engine and therefore became worried. Can anyone help me identify the early warning signs? What to listen for, etc before I damage the engine. When should the timing chain get replaced? Also, I did a little research online and I am not clear on the difference between the TSI and FSI engines. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, sorry ahead of time if this has already been posted in AudiWorld, as I am new to AudiWorld.