S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

Need some advice on my clutch.

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2011, 04:59 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some advice on my clutch.

Hi everyone! My clutch is failing on my 2001 audi s4. I need to replace it and the shop said 2580$

It seems like that should be way to much? is there a way i can buy my own parts or cross check the parts they are telling me i need? Also since the car is completly stock are there any cool upgrades i can get while they are taking this thing apart lol! I heard on another thread that they were thinking about replacing with an RS4 clutch. What does that do? im a total mechanical noob but i love my audi thanks for any help or any links to help. also I live in olympia Wa if anyone is familiar with the area! thanks a MILLION!
Old 08-31-2011, 06:22 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Originally Posted by TjEisenman
Hi everyone! My clutch is failing on my 2001 audi s4. I need to replace it and the shop said 2580$

It seems like that should be way to much? is there a way i can buy my own parts or cross check the parts they are telling me i need? Also since the car is completly stock are there any cool upgrades i can get while they are taking this thing apart lol! I heard on another thread that they were thinking about replacing with an RS4 clutch. What does that do? im a total mechanical noob but i love my audi thanks for any help or any links to help. also I live in olympia Wa if anyone is familiar with the area! thanks a MILLION!
My guess is that most of that will be labor costs. Clutch swaps are almost always a bummer, regardless of the car. You could get upgrade the clutch material and pressure plate and also swap the stock flywheel for a lightweight one. If you want to check parts prices just look through the online stores like ecs-tuning.
Old 08-31-2011, 09:17 AM
Audiworld Junior Member