A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help after major work

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2019, 08:35 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Need help after major work SOLVED

Hello all, I have a '99 A8 that I have been working on for the last several months. The list of things I did include:
R&R transmission
Timing belt, WP and all associated tensioners/idlers
All oil seals (engine)
Coolant pipe replacement (oil cooler)

I removed the engine and trans together and did most of the work out of the car. I also did remove the intake manifold because one of the rear coolant pipe o-rings had torn on install.

Now the car starts but will only run for about 30-60 seconds. It runs smooth and then just slowly sputters until it dies. I did have some trouble getting it to start before but that was because the starter signal wire was not connected to the correct terminal. As soon as I got that connected, I started it up and it produced multiple check engine lights for O2 sensors and injectors. I had forgotten to tighten the engine ground after working on the starter. After tightening it I have this current situation but no CEL's. Any ideas what might be causing it to die?

Last edited by Dr. A8; 08-29-2019 at 02:43 PM.
Old 06-20-2019, 08:56 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 81 Likes on 74 Posts

An easy test is to give it some starting fluid when it is dying, you can pull off a vacuum line to feed it. Sputtering sounds like fuel so maybe the fuel pump is dying or the filter is half-clogged.
Old 06-20-2019, 09:08 AM
AudiWorld Member

Originally Posted by jfrahm
An easy test is to give it some starting fluid when it is dying, you can pull off a vacuum line to feed it. Sputtering sounds like fuel so maybe the fuel pump is dying or the filter is half-clogged.
Thank you, I'm thinking fuel as well. I am going to go take a look and let you know.