A4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi A4 produced from 2005-2008.5

Newbie needs help with misfire

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2015, 06:34 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie needs help with misfire

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the Audi world but have been working on cars for sometime now. The amount of information on this forum is amazing! Now that I understand a lot of common problems with the B7 i'd love some advise.

I recently purchased a "mechanics special" 2007 2.0T quattro with 172,000 miles for sale at a local Audi dealership. The engine is misfiring and is not safe to be on the road. I've ordered the scantool but until it comes all I have is a standard OBD2 reader. The dealer stated the car needs four new coils, a new turbo charger, two engine mounts and all control arms. If I can get this car working I know the timing belt should be replaced and will do so. I've pulled the following codes below.

My question for all of you is which order should I proceed with diagnosing the misfiring? I really want to know what will be involved with repairing this car. Would hate to spend money fixing problems but end of up a major problem not allowing me to complete repairs.

P0299: Turbo Under-boost- I'm thinking I need the "D" revision diverter valve or the problem is a faulty wastegate. From what i've read I need to use the scan tool to see the charger is producing any boost. Before I can diagnose this I think the misfires have to be resolved?

P0404: Misfire

P2181: Cooling performance- Stuck Thermostat? I will use the scan tool to see if the reading from the temp sensor is off. If not then the thermostat needs to be replaced?

P0300: Random Misfire- Should I look at the cam lobe/HPFP?
Old 01-04-2016, 01:44 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 287 Likes on 232 Posts