A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My first D3. A few questions...

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2014, 04:56 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My first D3. A few questions...

Hi all,
Having owned a 97 D2 for 8 years I've just acquired a 3.7 V8 Quattro 2003 D3.
Its been sitting off road for 9 months although its MOT is only just up. Its going for a new ticket and a full service etc. Ive spent 4 days reviving the battery which now seems to be holding its own. Lovely car, Finger Print, adaptive cruise etc Im new to the whole MMi thing too. Got a couple of questions.

1) 3.7 V8 timing belt or chain ?

2) Im pretty sure its got the original software (See attached pic) and i think it can be upgraded to a newer version. Is this worth doing? any real benefit? How is the software installed?

3) The car has an audi car phone that i can see has a bluetooth capability. Will the new software allow me to use bluetooth with my iphone? The car also has a dennison ipod adapter that appears in the source list but the file display seems very basic. Maybe new software would help this also?

4) lastly, it says "No finger print (something) installed" yet i know the previous owner used it. Battery off Gremlin?

Thanks for your time. This forum has been invaluable to be over the years. Especially with the dreaded D2 fuel pump problem! Much respect.

Stoosh
Attached Images  
Old 08-08-2014, 06:09 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts

Congratulations!

Looks like you are somewhere in Europe?

1. Timing belt + two short timing chains connecting exhaust and intake camshafts.