A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Chip Installation and Service-time Swaps: What exactly is involved? (more...)

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-1999, 06:25 AM
RickM

Default Chip Installation and Service-time Swaps: What exactly is involved? (more...)

The price of the APR chip is certainly attractive, but I'm no mechanic and I'm concerned about ease of installation as well as going back to stock when it's time for dealer service. What exactly is involved in (1) installing the new chip and (2) reinstalling the old chip at service time? Special know-how? Tools? Time involved? Debugging required? Is it better to get the spare ECU for swapping in and out, rather than messing around with the chip itself? I've seen many opinions posted about to-chip-or-not-to-chip, but am very interesed to know the (excuse the pun) nuts and bolts of installation and swapping. Thanks,

Rick
99.5 A41.8TQM
Old 10-05-1999, 06:52 AM
Peter Brennan

Default It is a really simple procedure

Go to Apr's website @ goapr.com and look in their fax for a detailed illustration on how to install/remove the ECU.

Good luck,

Peter

A4 Avant 1.8t QMS
Old 10-05-1999, 06:55 AM
Sean T

Default Re: Chip Installation and Service-time Swaps: What exactly is involved? (more...)

Very easy install, covered in depth in the FAQ, but here it is anyways

The only tool you need is an 8mm socket, perhaps a phillips screwdriver if you cant get at the 5th bolt, and need to take off the trim inder the windshield. Just strip off the rubber grommet thing from the engine compartment, pop off the pastic cover, unhook the battery, unscrew the ecu box, and pop the sucker out. reverse for re-installation!

I was rather wary after performing this myself at first also, and the first time I did it took maybe 40 minutes. Now, knowing how it works, it takes me about 10 I think someone else said something to the same effect a while ago also.