A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Chip upgrade for 1.8TQ (manual)

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-1999, 03:10 PM
Brianz24

Default Chip upgrade for 1.8TQ (manual)

Just picked up my brand new '99 Audi A4 1.8TQ last night. . I'd like to purchase a chip/filter upgrade for the A4 (more power!). I'm brand new in the Audi world, and the first thing I've noticed is that there are a wealth of different chips for this car/engine!

I would greatly appreciate it if someone would give me some insight as to which is the best (performance and value) chip to get. I've read a couple of sites so far, incluing TAP and APR.... But of which claim similar performance numbers.

I'm looking for something that's also reliable, as this is my daily driver.

Additionaly, a friend has recommended that I purchase a spare ECU at this time. Is that something that I can buy later on down the line when I'm ready to get rid of the car? Would it be available and reasonably priced?

Any thoughts will be appreciated!

Thanks. Brian
Old 08-31-1999, 04:12 PM
Rodney

Default Chips

Best chip? That remains strictly a matter of opinion. Different chips move in and out of favor here every couple of months. Best value probably goes to Neuspeed/Greedspeed (they use the same chip), about $200 for .8 bar. I've ridden in a car with a Neuspeed chip and it's a big improvement over stock, but I've ridden in cars with other chips (.8 and 1.0 bar) and they were even quicker (but also more expensive). For reliability, no hard data yet (these cars are just too new), but early indications seem to be good).

You can buy a spare ecu (~$900 from Audi I think). If you buy it in a package with a chip, some companies offer a MUCH better deal (ie. ~$600 for both).

Also, check out the archives...tons of info, and read the reprint of the European Car article comparing 4 chips, it's posted in the news archive.

Regards,
Rodney

'99 A4 1.8tqms
Old 09-01-1999, 05:05 AM