A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Monterey Historics newcomer: what are best day(s) and event(s)?

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-1999, 12:24 PM
Stoney

Default Monterey Historics newcomer: what are best day(s) and event(s)?

I'm new to Quattro Club and to the Monterey Historics. Our interest is Audi cars specifically. There seem to be quite a number of events, including Concours d'elegance which runs the same time as Sunday's races. We were thinking of attending just one day (limitations on the home front), probably Sunday. I've visited the web sites and called the contact numbers. But I still wonder:

Should I skip Pebble Beach and just go to the races?
What time to arrive to enter the Corral?
What other events have a strong Audi presence (e.g., are they at Concors d'Italiano)?
Will there be any displays of modern Audis, and if so, where/when?

Any help in sorting out the options will help.
Old 07-28-1999, 01:05 PM
Steve S.

Default Some suggestions..

Skip the Concours de Italiano at the Quail Lodge on Friday...it is a smaller event. The concours at Pebble Beach is on Sunday (I think)..but I would skip that too if you are trying to see Audis and you only have one day. The main deal would be to go to the Historics on Sunday (Saturday may be way more crowded...it sure was last year). The corral opens for entry at 7:30am...I believe..Ted Fisher (Quattro Club) knows for sure. I have his email address if you want it. Plan on arriving WAY EARLY....if not ..you will wait...and wait...and wait...and wait..to park. I might be volunteering at the corral on Saturday or Sunday morning...telling cars where to park.

Email me if you have more questions...Don't forget the dinner at the Baja Cantina in Carmel Valley on Saturday night...see http://www.norcala4club.com for more details.

Steve S.
97 2.8QM
NorCal A4 owners club<ul><li><a href="http://www.norcala4club.com">NorCal A4 club website</a></li></ul>