A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Sport Package vs. Winter driving

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2000, 05:37 PM
LanceK

Default Sport Package vs. Winter driving

I am about to buy a 2000 A4 and am debating whether or not to get the sport package. If I was not living in the snowy midwest it would be a no-brainer because I love the tight feel of the sport package. However, I have read extensively about the dunlop 8000's extremely poor performance in the snow, and my snowy test-drive last night confirmed this fact. So the options are to either get the sport package plus a set of snow tires ($$$$+hassle) or get the standard suspension/tires and add the stiffer suspension (the cost/ease of which I am unsure).

Does anyone have any thoughts? Is the ride of the sport-package that much better over the long-run? (I should mention I've been driving a Toyota Corolla for 6 years, so either way will be an improvement!)
Old 01-21-2000, 05:46 PM
BDW

Default Don't cheat yourself ...

get sport. You get a lot for the money spent. Then get winter tires. If you don't mind using steel wheels and covers for the winter season, you can set yourself up for about 500 bucks. (I'm really happy with the Pirelli 210 Winter Assimetricos). If you can't stand to have steel wheels on, you can pick up a set of Audi 5-spoke replicas and winter tires for around 700 bucks. Changing is a bit of a hassle, but I like the peace of mind (especially when my wife is driving in bad weather) and winter rubber allows you to take full advantage of Quattro when you need to get up that slick incline.

Remeber, if you spend a grand or so in aftermarket parts improving the non-sport suspension, there's a chance you would no longer be happy with the performance of all season tires anyway! Catch-22.

Best of luck ...

BDW '99 1.8Tqms (Wett, K&N)
Old 01-21-2000, 05:58 PM
Drew S.

Default My $0.02 - you will want winter tires either way