A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi A4 produced from 2002-2005

Need professional advice/tips for my new B6 1.8TQ project!

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2017, 10:01 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need professional advice/tips for my new B6 1.8TQ project!

Hi folks! I'm a new proud owner of a 2004 Audi A4 B6 1.8TQ. I've previously owned 2 240 s13s w/ built SR motors, so I'm not a nooby to mods & performance, but I am a total nooby to Audi as a whole. I understand that you need to maintain these things like babies, which I already do for all my vehicles I own so this won't be a problem. I've heard great things about the A4s and I feel I chose the right engine for the job, but I would like some feedback on that. I picked her up for 2 grand w/ 128k mi. and runs beautifully with no apparent leaks besides a very small water leak.

First, I would like to know if there's anything specific I need to keep an eye out for, or should look at now before a problem goes unnoticed and causes issues. I have the 6 spd tranny, but have heard the stock trannys tend to lock up/weld w/ too much power on launches? How does the AWD system compare to something such as an EVO/STI?

Second, I plan on producing around 400HP in the long run after I get to know her better and do my research. Any type of average list going around? Mandatory company/parts Audi enthusiasts encourage? I've been told to chip my ECU first, then go for major mods. If one could list the order of mods I should get first to last, that would be awesome.

Any help would be very much appreciated!
Old 03-20-2017, 05:47 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 35 Likes on 35 Posts

I know I would not quantify as a professional, but am an engineer with a long history with the B6, so I'll give you my thoughts.

Originally Posted by UTPwniez