A4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi A4 produced from 2005-2008.5

Frustrated New A4 Owner

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2008, 06:11 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Frustrated New A4 Owner

I purchased my used '06 A4 3.2 Quattro no more than a month a go and it seems to be a magnet for problems. Since I am a rookie Audi owner, I have posted a few questions I would appreciate a veteran B7 A4 response. I truly appreciate your time!
--Initial throttle response seems really slow. I feel as if I need to press the pedal down nearly a quarter of the way to get it traveling. I don't know if this is due to the quattro needing to kick in? But I have not had any vehicle which responded so slowly. Please advise.
--Vehicle does not turn over properly when starting. Sometimes the vehicle starts right up, other times it takes a moment, other times it doesn't turn over at all and makes a noise as if it wants to--but doesn't. However, if I wait a few seconds after initially trying to start, it will then start right up. Looking for a reasoning so I can get fixed right the first time and not pay a large amount at the dealer.
--Finally, I have the luck of a quarter falling directly into the shifting **** area. Lucky for me, I had to take off the trim(wood grain) and the silver trim area to finally get out the lodged quarter. In the process, I saw a brief spark on the circuit board (which illuminates the P, R, D, etc). Now, the "P" and "R" no longer light, my tip tronic will not shift, and the instrument cluster does not change and only shows P R N D. Long story short, I must have inadvertenly caused a short in that little ciruit board. It easy to remove with just a pull and its is dislodged from its base. Where can I find a circuit board at a reasonable price? I am assuming I do not need a unique circuit board for my car and I can just plug it in.