Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

WHICH TO BUY 2012 A6 or 2012 S5 ???

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2012, 04:23 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default WHICH TO BUY 2012 A6 or 2012 S5 ???

I am new to Audi's and was all set to purchase an A6. While at the dealership took an S5 for a test drive. Now I am not sure what to purchase.

The A6 has enough back seat room for my 5 year old and we also have an suv...love the sound of the v8 but the A6 has the new tech and the LEDs...

I will be deciding when back home from business next week but wanted
the thoughts of some A6 owners...
Old 03-17-2012, 07:56 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

First do you want a sedan? If not, get the S5. The power on the S5 is better but the economy and technology is better on the A6. I chose the A6 because I was looking for a sedan. The S5 is beautiful but does not have back doors or the technology so I went with the A6 after comparing the two. The A6 is state of the art and the S5 is older technology. If you can wait, the S6 is due this year (late summer I think) with a V8.
Choose wisely.
Old 03-17-2012, 08:38 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

I have a co-worker that has an S5 with the V8 engine. He likes my car so much that he's in the process of buying an A6.
Old 03-17-2012, 09:04 AM
AudiWorld Member

Isn't the S4 the natural compromise?

The S5 is still one of the most beautiful cars on the road, but it does feel like a gen behind. I would at least wait for the refresh - lighter, more efficent engine, better handling dynamics, updated MMI, etc.

I originally had my heart set in the S4 but the A6 won me over with the tech, looks, and better fit for my lifestyle (two kids, mainly freeway driving).
Old 03-17-2012, 01:56 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member