A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

01 A6 Quattro 4.2L V8 -- Timing issues help please

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2017, 10:51 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 01 A6 Quattro 4.2L V8 -- Timing issues help please

I just bought my first Audi. It's a 2001 A6 Quattro with the 4.2L V8. It has 155k miles on the clock. I bought it really cheap from my boss, because he doesn't have time to fix it and sell it. It was his in-law's car for the past 6 years or so.

I'm just getting started on the digging into things and such. I bought a VAGcom adapter from amazon and just set up VCDS lite last night and plugged it in. Previously I had just plugged in with my standard OBD2 reader and checked the codes, and cleared them to see what would come back. So far the below code is the only thing that came back.

17755 - Camshaft Position Sensor 2 (G163) / Engine Speed Sensor (G28): Incor. Correl.
P1347 - 35-00 - -

From some reading it sounds like this could be a number of things. I'm looking for the most methodical way to check and test it out to figure out the issue and the fix. This certainly isn't the only issue I'm working through, but I think it's the most troubling one to have to deal with.

If anyone can help me get started on fixing this and learning Audi/VW that'd be greatly appreciated. Please post whatever from the Bentley for what I'd need to do if possible.

Also if I need to pull the timing apart, is there someone on here that I can borrow the correct timing locking tools from?

I assume the first step is to check the sensor. What pins do I need to check for which values and under which conditions?

I would guess the next step would be to check compression on the cylinders to try and make sure I don't have any bent valves.

Thanks Everyone
Cheers,
Josh
Old 08-30-2017, 10:56 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 172 Likes on 162 Posts