A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Bosch says NO to soldering O2 wires

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2016, 07:02 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 25 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Bosch says NO to soldering O2 wires

Just replaced the B1S2 O2 sensor with the Bosch 15733 universal. Their supplied connector is a glorified butt connector. The interesting part is they specifically state NOT to solder the wires. Their explanation is air is drawn into the sensor through the wire and soldering will not allow this????? I called them and they repeated that air is drawn through the wire and no solder allowed. I am not an engineer but I do not see how air passes through the wires and through their PosiLock connector. Also mentioned soldering can cause heat damage to the O2 sensor. I can sort of understand that one, assuming you solder too close to the actual sensor. But solder caused heat transfer along the wire to the sensor is a bit far fetched to me. Assuming you solder properly and quickly and at least 12" from the connector sounds like an unlikely damage scenario.

Sounds to me like they are over simplifying for the sake of the dummies installing the sensors. Easier to say no soldering than to explain no soldering if you are going to do it too close to the sensor or with poor technique and do not know how to use a heat sink or soak. Is this Air through the wire thing real?
Old 03-08-2016, 07:50 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I'm not sure if the PosiLock has a weatherpak seal?
If it don't have a seal this air theory is pure BS and if it does it's not like we are taking our cars above 15k feet to equalize internal pressure or the exhaust gas heat creates that much critical expansion or maybe it does based on the materials in the sensor.
Old 03-08-2016, 08:03 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member