A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Noob here with important input needed fast! I have a down payment held on a RS6, but

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2004, 01:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob here with important input needed fast! I have a down payment held on a RS6, but

this morning I went to test drive before final purchase and two things did not seem right.

The first thing is a there was a vibration when the salesman and I were driving down the highway at 55-65 mph. Now he says the tires probably need balanced and that they were cold. However, I have been sneaking around the forum today and there seems to be some issues with vibrations in the Audi line of cars. So do I have them balance and retest drive the car before buying?

Second, there was some loose/torn stitching on the drivers seat in the lumbar area. Again, salesman said "no problem to fix".

Also there is hazing of the paint in front right quarter panel. Does not look like it has been repainted.

I do not feel good about these three things being that I'm going to pay sticker for this beautiful car. The car is simply gorgeous and oh so powerful. Do I request they find another one?

Please respond quickly with what I should do b/c they have a down payment of mine that I could walk away with and one of the Mercedes dealer in town has a fully loaded AMG sitting on their lot due to customer backing out.
Old 02-05-2004, 01:16 PM

Default Request they find another one.

I was also debating whether to buy the E55 or Rs6. I'm glad I went with the RS6. It sounds like the car you were driving hadn't been taken care of. Come on, torn stitching and hazed paint on their flagship sports car? Good luck.
Old 02-05-2004, 01:20 PM
AudiWorld Uber User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Have it balanced before you sign. If not balanced, pass.