A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Still chasing coolant leak

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2013, 01:56 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Still chasing coolant leak

Ok, so I have been losing coolant for at least 6 months at this point, and slowly chasing down the issue. First I replaced my cracked coolant resevoir, then my leaking CTS and O-ring, then the leaking after-run sensor on the other side of the coolant pipe. At this point, I lose about half my resevoir in about a week...sometimes faster, sometimes slower.

A couple weeks ago, I decided it must be the aux. pump, so I pulled the manifold to find out that someone had installed a relocation kit for the pump and the valley pan was dry. I checked the relocated pump and it was dry.

Today I pulled the front of the car to look at the T-stat housing - and the housing looks to be dry. I just pulled the passenger side timing belt cover and serpentine belt tensioner after I got the car into service position...but I didn't see ANYTHING on the front of the engine.

While I was in there, I noticed a big glob of gel coolant on top of the valley pan this time (ironic huh?)- so I am guessing the plastic elbow that they used in place of the pump has cracked and I just missed it because it wasn't as bad before.

I did notice a very small amount of orangy liquid on the TOP of the t-stat housing, but it looked like it may have come from the valley pan area.

I didn't notice anything around the tensioner when I took it off.

I decided I will pull the throttle body and try to replace that elbow over the valley pan tomorrow - so I started buttoning up the front end.

The funny thing is that when the car was up, it wasn't leaking at all. I can NEVER find any trace of coolant on the underside of the car.