A6 / S6 (C6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C6 Audi A6 produced from 2004-present and Audi S6 produced from 2007 - 2011

Is this AMI suitable?

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2018, 07:11 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is this AMI suitable?

Hi all, I am new to this retrofitting stuff but my goal is to get some Bluetooth streaming on my 2008 A6 2.0 TDi Limited Edition. It has the more basic MMi option, but is colour, has the sat nav etc, cd changer. Is it the AMi with the part number 4E0035785 that I need to install to get this functionality? I have seen a few others dotted around with the same prefix of numbers but with letters on the end, are any of these compatible, for instance 4E0035785 F or A. Any help would be greatly appreciated, especially if I have this all wrong!
Old 09-07-2018, 07:33 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Any letter suffix should be OK. The higher the letter, the newer the unit. As long as the number part is what you listed, you'll be fine.
Old 09-07-2018, 02:39 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I had bought a couple of items to add to my 2006 A6 last year and this weekend finally got around to adding them.

1. A backup camera module (Audi MMI 2G HIGH rearview camera module) and sony ccd camera in Audi trunk handle.
2. A Media gateway (Dension 500 Gateway) which gives me ipod/usb and bluetooth options.

The backup camera plugged into the AMI connector and I bought the license plate backup camera which replaces your handle.
Installation couldn't have been easier, a few bolts and the entire glovebox drops down. I grabbed power from the backup light for the camera and filtered it to avoid noise in the picture.

It turned out really good. And was easy!
Old 09-11-2018, 07:21 AM
AudiWorld Member