A6 / S6 (C6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C6 Audi A6 produced from 2004-present and Audi S6 produced from 2007 - 2011

MMI Upgrade advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2012, 06:02 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MMI Upgrade advice

Hello Guys,
I just upgraded from a '99 A4 to a '05 A6.
I am new to all the new electronic stuff inside the car and was wondering if there is an upgrade to the MMI system available.

I had the below questions :
- I am on firmware 0750 (attached picture), do I need firmware upgrade? What features get added?
- What is 2g/3g MMI?
- How can i load 2011 US Maps on to my car?
- My car is not in warranty, so will the dealership help me upgrade firmware and load new maps? how much do they charge?

Any help is appreciated
Thanks much guys.
Attached Images  
Old 01-23-2012, 08:57 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

- I am on firmware 0750 (attached picture), do I need firmware upgrade? What features get added?
u have the base firmware 4610 is latest US, u do not NEED it unless u want to update to latest NAV maps or have issues with Bluetooth phone pairing or just hate that warning screen u get each time

- What is 2g/3g MMI?
you ave MMI 2G ..3G has a toggle button inside the main/mouse button and a more integrated MMI

- How can i load 2011 US Maps on to my car?
rumor is u need to update MMI 1st but im not 100% on that but what it takes is getting the disks and inserting them in the nav unit in the trunk

- My car is not in warranty, so will the dealership help me upgrade firmware and load new maps? how much do they charge?
sure they will , WAY TOO MUCH

u could do everything your self but i would require a good search and read on the forums
Old 01-27-2012, 03:02 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Hello MainLandMig,
Do you know any resources where I can find the steps to upgrade the MMI firmware and the maps?