A6 / S6 (C6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C6 Audi A6 produced from 2004-present and Audi S6 produced from 2007 - 2011

The new guy... Are there any workshop manuals floating around?

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2023, 05:34 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The new guy... Are there any workshop manuals floating around?

I hate barging into a forum like the Kook-Aid Man. I am new to this Audi thing. I decided I needed a new bad life-decision and bought a 2007 S6 on an auction, sight unseen. You can imagine how that's going. It starts and runs, and it's quite quick, but I found that I am missing a cam roller. The car will never pass a NYS inspection even if it's semi-drivable.

Exploring an engine pull.... but I can't fully digest this idea until I see a step by step.

Does such a workshop manual exist? Pics for your amusement. P.S., there is no signs of the cam roller anywhere. I drove the car locally before I parked her and so not sure what to make of that. I've yet to drop the oil pan, however.

2007 Audi S6, Rad off, So. Much. Fun.

2007 Audi S6 Valve Cover Off. Missing cam roller.

Old 07-09-2023, 11:12 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 171 Likes on 150 Posts

The Bentley Publishers issued an official Audi Repair Manual (Bentley Stock No. AC66) on a DVD-ROM that covers the 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 A6, S6 models. Unfortunately, the program won't work on Windows 10 or 11, which is one of the reasons have I kept my old desktop computer to acces my manual for my 2006 A6 Avant.
Old 07-17-2023, 08:44 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 114 Likes on 100 Posts

I also use Bentley on an old PC and some folks use Erwin as well.

You might be able to replace the missing rocker and damaged lifter without pulling the engine.