A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brake pads references for HP2 calipers

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2017, 02:02 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake pads references for HP2 calipers

Hi All,

it seems finding pads for my A8 D2 4.2 quattro (1996) is a bit more tricky than expected in Bangkok.
So in order to find something matching my need and potentially easy to source, I will need your help to know the correct part number / manufacturer reference for my car.
So, first of all, I am new with this car (have it only for less than 6 months) and the original owner put front pads that seems to be a bit more "track" or "racing" oriented and they can be very noisy at low speed when not in the correct temperature range. As the average speed here in the traffic in rarely above 45 km/h (about 30 mph) it is almost impossible to have them in the correct range and so, it is squealing and so really annoying most of the time. I was not able to find the brand / model of the front pads installed.

It seems my front calipers are the usual HP2 as they have 4 pads each.
I took a picture for reference, so please confirm me if I am right

It also seems the brake sensor is the round one as you can see on the picture below:

I am looking pads with the following specs (by order of priority)
- Quiet, quiet, quiet
- Good cold grip
- Enough endurance when doing some spirited driving (but no track or any excessive usage for me)
- Not hurting too much the disk
- Not too much dust (optional)

In light of those - and correct me if I am wrong - it seems the following brands / models are matching requirement:
- EBC Redstuff. I think the DP31012C should be the one to use
- Akebono Euro Ultra-Premium. I think the EUR839 should be the one to use
- Hawk HPS?
- Ferodo?
- Any other you may recommend