A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

06 A8 Air ride compressor wiring help needed!

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2018, 08:45 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 06 A8 Air ride compressor wiring help needed!

Hi,
I'm new here as I just bought an A8 that needs some love. I know my way around BMWs pretty good, but I'm new to Audi.

My problem is that there was a minor accident right where the air ride compressor is and the wiring was mangled. I have it mostly repaired, but have four wires left. They go to the temp sensor and the solenoid. The wires were pulled out of the plugs, so I can not figure which is which. I looked all over the internet for a wiring diagram/color code and am stumped. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
B
Old 06-15-2018, 03:35 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

OK. Why would the compressor not run while in the car and run fine when Jumpered to a battery? Also, when jumpered it wont raise the car at all. Could the temp sensor not being hooked up make it not work?

The relay and 40A fuse are good, so Im stumped on why it wont run. Maybe there is a fuse for the Module? Where is the module on the 06 A8?

Stumped!
Old 06-15-2018, 03:48 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 591 Likes on 495 Posts

Did you literally continuity test the fuse? Ask me how I know... As in, if it is the OE German one a break in the inside is next to impossible to see and it seems fine to the casual glance. Only when i tested my fuse with an ohmmeter and got an infinite reading did I look super closely and saw the smallest hairline crack inside. Bad fuse package design in general from the OES.
Old 06-15-2018, 04:35 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Hi,
OK, I will double check that in am. I have another fuse anyway. While I have the dash down, I will try to test the relay as well.
Old 06-15-2018, 04:47 PM
AudiWorld Super User