A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2008 D3 4.2 brake issue - What could it be?

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2018, 11:18 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 2008 D3 4.2 brake issue - What could it be?

I've been fighting this issue now for several months and can't seem to get it lined out. It all began when I started hearing what sounded like a pad was dragging ever so slightly. I could faintly hear it when coming to a complete stop. It wasn't bad - just a sign to me that it was probably time to re-build the calipers. Shortly after this discovery - I started noticing uneven wear marks on the front left rotor where the sound was coming from. I also noticed a few minor discrepancies on the front right as well. Seeing this convinced me a little more that a caliper rebuild and flush would probably get me back on track. When I finally got a free weekend - I pulled the calipers and started the re-build.

Front Calipers:
I put all new seals and guide pins throughout. The pistons all looked great and none of the seals were breached. I cleaned everything up installed new pads, greased the pins, & re-installed the rotors. I had the front rotors turned so I could start this process with a true-surfaced rotor. The shop that turned the rotors did end up taking some material off, but left me still within tolerance.

Rear Calipers:
I put all new seals and guide pins throughout. The rear pistons were also fine - however the seals on both rears had small tears, but I didn't see any issues from it. I cleaned everything up and installed new rotors and pads.