A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

EPC Light On After Intake/Injector Cleaning

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2019, 07:11 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default EPC Light On After Intake/Injector Cleaning

2007 D3 4.2 - oil was leaking from oil filter housing so I planned to also clean the intake manifold and intake valves and replace the valley pan gasket. I also cleaned out the throttle body and flushed the PCV valve. I chose to use the walnut blasting method with the adapter and vaccuum. Took my time - double checking all connections and making sure everything was back in order. Removed all plugs to clean and check for any debris. Went to start car after reassembly and car cranked once and would not turn over - EPC and check engine light were on. I'm new to VAG-COM, but understand the basics. I wasn't showing any misfires or engine-related codes which I thought was strange. My thought was fuel related since I had to disconnect fuel lines. I've triple checked everything and all seems in order connection wise. The car seems to be locked down now which makes me think some adaptation is needed. After playing with VAG-COM some more and research online - I really couldn't find a good list of adaptation steps to take. I was able to successfully run a fuel pump adaptation (according to VAG-COM), but I'm thinking there's more to it than that. Any ideas and/or proper VAG-COM steps to take here?
Old 07-01-2019, 11:43 AM
AudiWorld Wiseguy

Received 223 Likes on 203 Posts

EPC light comes on if the engine doesn’t start (amongst other things. Much like the old school battery lamp, to indicate no charging current flow.

Anyway, given that you’ve had the intake off and consequently disturbed the fuel system, I’d suggest it’s just air in the fuel line. Crank it over some more and it should come back to life.
Old 07-01-2019, 12:05 PM