A8 / S8 (D4 Platform) Discussion Discussion Forum for the D4 Audi A8 Produced from 2010-2017 Audi S8 produced from 2012-2017
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dealer overfilled oil on my S8

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2017, 05:21 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 61 Likes on 42 Posts
Default Dealer overfilled oil on my S8

Just had the car serviced a couple of weeks ago.
Today sitting at a long light I checked the oil level on the MMI and the message says "Please reduce oil level".

I'm pretty pissed but keeping a level head.

I am not an automotive engineer but I do know overfilling oil is NOT good for the engine due to frothing of oil, poor oil pressure, and also bad for the CATS.

I do not have any symptoms as such, but going in tomorrow to get the oil properly done again - what should I be doing just to be sure that I haven't suffered damage?
Old 04-24-2017, 06:02 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Hopefully this helps you. I have a dipstick in my 14 S8 for this very reason. The dipstick shows the oil at the very top of the full "bump" on the stick. It's not overfilled but I get the same message "reduce oil level" you get. If it's overfilled slightly, then you'll get the message. If it's overfilled by 3 quarts...you get the message. No way to tell without a stick which it is.

My guess is that its slightly overfilled which won't cause any harm. Best get a dipstick or have your dealer give you one for free when you bring it in overfilled. :-)
Old 04-24-2017, 06:03 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 43 Likes on 29 Posts

That's unfortunate, hard to say what it could have done, depends on how much they overfilled it by. I would avoid any exuberance until it's sorted, though.
Old 04-24-2017, 06:05 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

The first thing I purchased was a dip stick.
Old 04-24-2017, 06:11 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 61 Likes on 42 Posts

yeah thanks guys. I am definitely going to do the dipstick mod.